

To: Members of the Communities

Scrutiny Committee

Date: 1 September 2022

Direct Dial: 01824 712554

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the COMMUNITIES SCRUTINY COMMITTEE to be held at 10.00 am on THURSDAY, 8 SEPTEMBER 2022 in COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, RUTHIN AND BY VIDEO CONFERENCE

Yours sincerely

G. Williams Head of Legal, HR and Democratic Services

AGENDA

PART 1 - THE PRESS AND PUBLIC ARE INVITED TO ATTEND THIS PART OF THE MEETING

1 APOLOGIES

2 DECLARATION OF INTERESTS (Pages 3 - 4)

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act 1972.

4 MINUTES (Pages 5 - 12)

To receive the minutes of the Communities Scrutiny Committee held on 30 June 2022 (copy enclosed).

5 PROPOSED CENTRAL RHYL AND CENTRAL PRESTATYN COASTAL DEFENCE SCHEMES (Pages 13 - 78)

To consider a report (copy enclosed) by the Council's Flood Risk Manager on the value and benefits of investing in both schemes for the communities concerned and the county in general and seek members' support for progressing their approval through the Council's decision-making processes.

10.10am - 11am

6 WILDFLOWER MEADOW PROJECT (Pages 79 - 114)

To consider a report by the Council's Ecology Officer (copy enclosed) which seeks the Committee to evaluate the effectiveness of the measures take to improve engagement and increase publicity in relation to the project.

11am - 11.45am

7 SCRUTINY WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 115 - 138)

To consider a report by the Scrutiny Coordinator (copy enclosed) seeking a review of the committee's forward work programme and updating members on relevant issues.

11:45am – 12:00pm

MEMBERSHIP

Councillors

Councillor Huw Williams (Chair) Councillor Karen Anne Edwards (Vice-

Chair)

Brian Blakeley
James Elson
Merfyn Parry
Jon Harland
Michelle Walker
Alan James
Cheryl Williams

COPIES TO:

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils